The Mesquite Rotary Club hosted its annual Scholarship Recognition and Awards Luncheon at the Dallas Athletic Club on April 24th.  At the event, the top one percent students in the Class of 2018 from each Mesquite ISD high school, Sunnyvale High School, and Dallas Christian School were honored.  Also, scholarship awards of $1,500 each were presented to students from each of these schools, and to a student from the Mesquite Academy.  Additionally, two students from the Eastfield College Rotaract Club received $750 scholarships.  This investment by the club in the future of these deserving area scholars totaled $13,500
Those receiving the $1,500 Rotary scholarships this year included Marilyn Gafford of Dallas Christian School, Vivian Tang of Sunnyvale High School, Juana Monsivais of the Mesquite Academy, Mikah Eckstein of Mesquite High School, Daniela Juarez of North Mesquite High School, Jonathan Pecina of West Mesquite High School, Jordan Hartman of Poteet High School, and De’Sha Bass-McClellan of John Horn High School.   Those receiving the two $750 Eastfield Rotaract scholarships included Alondra Reyes, and Vianney Sanchez.
The Mesquite Rotary Club scholarship committee for 2018 was chaired by Valerie Bradley, and also included Evelyn Williams, and Todd Price. In making the award decisions, the committee considered the students’ academic records, their involvement in school activities, their community service activities, and financial need. 
The funds underwriting the cost of these scholarship awards come from the proceeds of the Mesquite Rotary Club’s annual “Rodeo Road Rally” fundraising bike ride.  The next ride is coming up at Mesquite’s Rodeo Convention Center on Saturday morning, June 30th.  For registration or more information on the event, visit